WEBINAR
Tuesday, August 9th at 10 a.m. PST

During Donovan Livingston’s senior year of high school, a teacher at his school threatened to cut the microphone when he wanted to incorporate spoken-word poetry into his commencement speech. He moved forward with a conventional speech instead. Years later, speaking at Harvard Graduate School of Education, he was able to deliver the speech the way he’d always wanted. Harvard University has called it “the most powerful, heartfelt” speech “you will ever hear.”

Donovan’s story heard ‘round the world—a youth full of promise, intelligence and strength who was silenced by systems like his school—is the narrative of boys and men of color across the U.S. Today, more than ever, we know that opportunity and access, even to a microphone, are not available to everyone. ‪Yet youth like Donovan still succeed when their talents and strengths align with opportunity.

This webinar will present the findings from Heard, Not Judged: Insights Into the Talents, Realities and Needs of Young Men of Color, a recent report by MEE Productions, a Philadelphia-based group. Report researchers hosted focus groups with young men of color in their hometowns of Los Angeles, Long Beach, Oakland, Richmond, New York City, Baltimore, Atlanta, New Orleans and Detroit to dive deep into the challenges and opportunities faced by young men of color. Hear from youth themselves about what they need, as well as the experts supporting them in their journey to success.

This webinar is intended for funders, community-based organizations and anyone wanting to understand the lives of boys and men of color. Gain new insight into what’s working, what’s not, and how you can help as a funder, community-based organization or even as an individual.


Date
Tuesday, August 9th

Time
10 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. PST /
12 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. CST /
1 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. EST

Location
ONLINE

Attendance is free. Registration is required. 

REGISTER HERE


In partnership with: